Posted on

10 Creepiest One or Two-Sentence Horror Stories


Dad sat across from me at the table and asked “How’s Mom?” “A bit chewy”, I replied.

There is an art to writing horror stories, and one of the finest examples of the art is to be able to freak people out with just a SINGLE sentence or two. Aside from my example above, there have been many of these scattered across the internet, and I have gathered the best of the best here, to give you a fitting chill for the winter season.

This list will not have explanations provided for each of these, or any “wow that was spooky!” commentary, just to let it sink into readers’ minds and scare them.

Enjoy.

10:

When we bought the house I assumed the scratches on the inside of the basement door were from a dog, but the neighbors say the previous owner didn’t have one. This morning the scratches had multiplied.

9:

In all of the time that I’ve lived alone in this house, I swear to God I’ve closed more doors than I’ve opened.

8:

A girl heard her mom yell her name from downstairs, so she got up and started to head down. As she got to the stairs, her mom pulled her into her room and said, “I heard that, too.”

7:

She asked why I was breathing so heavily. I wasn’t.

6:

I always thought my cat had a staring problem, she always seemed fixated on my face. Until one day, when I realized that she was always looking just behind me.

5:

The last man on Earth sat alone in a room. There was a knock at the door.

4:

My wife woke me up last night to tell me there was an intruder in our house. She was murdered by an intruder 2 years ago.

3:

I begin tucking him into bed and he tells me, “Daddy, check for monsters under my bed.” I look underneath for his amusement and see him, another him, under the bed, staring back at me quivering and whispering, “Daddy, there’s somebody on my bed.”
2:
There was a picture in my phone of me sleeping. I live alone.

And the most bone-chilling short short horror story is…

1:

I just saw my reflection blink.

aaaak

Leave a Reply

