Posted on

30 Days of Jojo: Day 15


15: A Scene that Made You Angry

I have disqualified the deaths I mentioned in the “Characters You Wished Weren’t Dead”, along with the dastardly deeds of main villains, (otherwise this list would be full of Dio’s various murders and arts and crafts projects). I’m also not focusing on major events that I wish didn’t happen as this is a later question. This list focuses on pet peeves I had with scenes in particular and scenes that make me, (sometimes oddly) angry.

Marco

Steel Ball Run is a big ball of sadness, but nothing made me angrier than a small mention at the tail end of the series stating that Marco died of a cold after everything that had happened. It just seemed like Gyro had gone through so much even dying in the end so that Marco wouldn’t be executed. Then the poor little guy died due to illness, essentially rendering Gyro’s posthumous victory bittersweet. I know that a lot of innocents die over the story of Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure, but this was just -CRUEL- Araki!

Honorable Mentions:

http://vignette2.wikia.nocookie.net/jjba/images/e/e1/StroheimFinal.jpg/revision/latest?cb=20131015030200

I’m generally the first person to call fic writers and artists out on their glorification of Nazis, but Rudol von Stroheim is the most honorable damned Nazi I have ever seen. He’s -likeable-, which certainly says something about how well he was written, and one of the hammiest characters I have seen in anything -ever-. So when the epilogue of Battle Tendency suggested that Stroheim died at Stalingrad I originally didn’t know what to make of it. He seemed indestructible! If anything it just irritates me that such a brilliant character and determinator was written off as having died. I refuse to believe that he died, I REFUSE!

Romeo

If it weren’t for the fact that there are characters that I dislike more, Romeo Jisso would be one of the most detestable people in the series. His betrayal of Jolyne to the police shows just the kind of scumbag that he is, as his girlfriend ends up jailed due to his blaming her and made up alibi. Although he later does help her and her friends escape prison, this doesn’t make what Romeo did to save his own skin any less anger-invoking.

Leave a Reply

